About the region

Otago, in the south of New Zealand's South Island, is the second-largest region in terms of land area. It has a population of 202,467 (2013 Census). The city of Dunedin on the east coast is the regional centre.


Otago is the second largest region in New Zealand in terms of land area; approximately 32,000 sq km or 12% of New Zealand's land area. The coastline stretches approximately 480km from the Waitaki River in the north to Wallace Beach in the south. The coastal marine area extends out to sea 22.2 km (12 nautical miles).

Read more about the Otago coastline


There are four districts and one city in the Otago region. While the Waitaki District falls partly within the Otago region and partly within the Canterbury region, 90% of its population live in the Otago region. Dunedin City, at approximately 3,300 sq km, is the largest city in New Zealand in terms of land area.

Read about the Otago regional councillors for each district
See a map of the districts of Otago


Otago's resident population (2013 Census) is 202,467 or 4.8 percent of New Zealand's total population of 4,242,048. This is an increase of 8,667 people, or 4.5 percent, since the 2006 Census. The next census is due to be held in 2018.

Otago Regional Council

70 Stafford Street
Private Bag 1954
Dunedin 9054

Call UsCall us Toll Free
Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm
0800 474 082
Email UsEmail Us
Contact DetailsView Full
Contact Details