Dunstan Constituency By-election 2017

Notice of Election, Nomination of Candidates and Closing Date for Nomination

Notice is given under Sections 52 and 53 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that on Tuesday, 20 June 2017 an election will be held to elect one member of the Dunstan Constituency.  The vacancy has arisen following the recent death of Councillor Maggie Lawton.


Nominations for the above position opened on Monday, 27 March 2017 and closed at noon on Monday, 24 April 2017. Two nominations - that of Gary Kelliher and Ella Lawton - were received. 

An election will be held using the first-past-the-post electoral system by postal vote, conducted over the period from 29 May 2017 to 20 June 2017.

The final day for polling is 20 June 2017 at 12 noon. Voting papers will be processed throughout the three- week voting period.

For candidate profiles and photos please view the Dunedin City Council webpage.

Useful documents

Public Notice (34 KB)

Candidate Nomination Form (70 KB)

Dunstan By-election Information sheet (72 KB)

ORC Candidate Handbook 2016 (867 KB)

Central Otago District Council Election signage information (40 KB)

Queenstown Lakes District Council Election signs policy (37 KB)

NZTA Advertising signs on state highways (90 KB)


Otago Regional Council

70 Stafford Street
Private Bag 1954
Dunedin 9054

Call UsCall us Toll Free
Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm
0800 474 082
Email UsEmail Us
Contact DetailsView Full
Contact Details