

Environmental Implementation Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Environmental Implementation Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 8 February 2024, commencing at 9:00 AM.

https://www.youtube.com/live/rcF6bRvrDVM?si=bySXSPTbb8SvmEXG

PRESENT

Cr Kate Wilson

(Chairperson)

Cr Bryan Scott

Cr Gary Kelliher

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Lloyd McCall

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Alan Somerville

Cr Elliot Weir

1. WELCOME

Chair Kate Wilson welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 9:00AM with a karakia. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Gavin Palmer (GM Operations), Joanna Gilroy (Acting GM Regulatory), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support)

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Noone Seconded:

That the apologies for Cr Forbes be accepted.

MOTION CARRIED

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Cr Noone noted there needed to be follow up on Resolution EIC23-111 as an Action Item, with this noted, it was moved by Cr Malcolm:

Resolution: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Kelliher Seconded

That the minutes of the (public portion of the) Environmental Implementation meetings held on 9 August 2023 and 8 November 2023 be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

MOTION CARRIED

9:05 AM Cr Weir joined the meeting.

7. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

7.1. Site-Led Programme Update (YouTube 10:55mins)

This report provided an update on progress of the Site-Led terrestrial pest management programmes and sought approval for the allocation of the Site-Led Budget 2023/2024 (\$150,000) for a Site-Led Programme grant delivered through a contestable funding process. Gavin Palmer (General Manager, Operations) Sophie Gibson-Pinn (Community Coordinator Biosecurity), Libby Caldwell (Manager Environmental Implementation) and, online, Sarah Irvine (Team Leader Environmental Implementation) and were available to respond to questions.

Resolution EIC24-101: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Environmental Implementation Committee:

a. Notes this report and progress made to support the Site-Led terrestrial programmes to date.

MOTION CARRIED

A division was called:

Resolution EIC24-102: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Environmental Implementation Committee:

b. Recommends to Council to approve the allocation of \$146,200 from the existing budget for the Site-Led Programme to be delivered through a direct funding process for specific projects to achieve RPMP objectives (Option 3).

For	Cr Kelliher, Cr Malcolm, Cr McCall, Cr Noone, Cr Robertson, Cr Somerville, Cr Wilson
Against	Cr Mepham, Cr Scott, Cr Weir
Abstained	

MOTION CARRIED

Resolution EIC24-103: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Environmental Implementation Committee:

c. Recommends to Council to approve that the allocation of funding is recommended by the existing Eco Fund Panel.

MOTION CARRIED

Against - Cr Lloyd McCall.

Resolution EIC24-104: Cr Noone Moved, Cr Malcolm Seconded

That the Environmental Implementation Committee:

d. Requests that staff provide an update on progress of the lagarosiphon Site Led Project MOTION CARRIED

8. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Wilson declared the meeting closed with a karakia at 10:20 A.M.

XILLE	08.05.2024
Chairperson	Date