

# Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 6 March 2025, commencing at 8.30am.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oj1xj1kUe8c&t=21s

## **PRESENT**

Cr Alan Somerville (Chair)

Cr Gary Kelliher

Cr Alexa Forbes

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson (Online)

Cr Elliot Weir

Cr Kate Wilson (Online)

#### 1. WELCOME

Chair Somerville welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 8.30am with a karakia. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Tom Dyer (GM Manager Science and Resilience), Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer, Deputy CE), Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support), Cara Jordan (Governance Support), Brett Patterson (Team Leader Programme Management), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards), Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation) and Ariane Bray (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist).

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Forbes Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the apologies for Cr Laws, Cr McCall be accepted.

**MOTION CARRIED** 

#### 3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

#### 4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

#### 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

#### 6. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations were held.

#### 7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Somerville Moved, Cr Kelliher Seconded

That the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee meeting held on 7th November 2024 be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

**MOTION CARRIED** 

#### 8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this committee.

Cr Noone joined the meeting at 8.37am.

#### 9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

## 9.1. Programme Update - Climate Resilience and RiF Tranche 1

[YouTube 10.35] This paper provided an update on the progress of the Otago Regional Council Climate Resilience and Regional Infrastructure Fund (RiF) Tranche 1 programmes. Brett Patterson, Team Leader Programme Management, was available to answer questions.

#### Resolution SRC25-101: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Kelliher Seconded

That the Committee:

1) Receives this report.

**2) Notes** the progress with Otago Regional Council Climate Resilience and Regional Infrastructure Fund (RiF) Tranche 1 programmes.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

## 9.2. Programme Update - Renewals projects

[YouTube 21.30] This paper provided an update on the progress of projects within the Otago Regional Council Engineering renewals programme and presented the projects planned for Otago Regional Council Engineering assets intended to be underway within year 1 of the 2024 - 2034 long term plan. Projects that are receiving central government funding are excluded from this report as they are reported separately. Brett Patterson, Team Leader Programme Management, was available to answer questions.

## Resolution SRC25-102: Cr Kelliher Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Committee:

- 1) Receives this report.
- 2) Notes the progress with Otago Regional Council Engineering Renewals programme.

#### MOTION CARRIED

#### Cr Somerville Moved, Cr Weir seconded

The agenda be changed to hear matter 9.4 before matter 9.3 due to availability of staff.

Cr Weir left the meeting at 9:21 am.

Cr Weir returned to the meeting at 9:36 am.

Cr Noone left the meeting at 9:45 am.

Cr Noone returned to the meeting at 9:46 am.

Cr Robertson left the meeting at 9:49 am.

## 9.4. Clutha Delta Natural Hazards Adaptation

[YouTube 38.00] This paper updated Council on progress with the Clutha Delta natural hazards adaptation programme including natural hazards assessments, and programme and engagement planning. Ann Conroy, Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation, Jean-Luc Payan, Manager Natural Hazards, and Tom Dyer, GM Science and Resilience, were available for questions.

#### Resolution SRC25-103: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the Committee:

1) Notes this report.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

Cr Forbes left the meeting at 9:59 am.

Cr Forbes returned to the meeting at 10:03 am.

## 9.3. Flood Forecasting and Public Information

[YouTube 1.32.14] This paper described the flood warning system and service provided by the Otago Regional Council. Jean-Luc Payan, Manager Natural Hazards, and Tom Dyer, GM Science and Resilience, were available for questions.

## Resolution SRC25-104: Cr Noone Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Committee:

1) Notes this report.

## **MOTION CARRIED**

## 12. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Somerville declared the meeting closed at 10.12am with a karakia.

