

Regional Leadership Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Regional Leadership Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Wednesday 9 April 2025, at 3:00 PM. <u>https://www.youtube.com/live/nlQLHC6HeKw?si=LREVcHf3hEFgWHFA</u>

PRESENT

Cr Elliot Weir Cr Michael Laws Cr Alexa Forbes Cr Gary Kelliher Mr Hoani Langsbury Cr Kevin Malcolm Cr Lloyd McCall Cr Andrew Noone Cr Gretchen Robertson Cr Alan Somerville Cr Kate Wilson (Co-Chair) (Co-Chair, online) (online)

1. WELCOME

Chair Weir welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 3:00pm. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport), Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Tami Sargeant (GM People and Corporate), Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer, Deputy CE), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support).

2. APOLOGIES

Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded: *That the apology for Cr Tim Mepham be accepted.* **MOTION CARRIED**

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Cr Weir Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded: *The agenda be confirmed as published.*

CARRIED

5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the minutes of the Regional Leadership Committee 21 November 2024 be received and confirmed as a true and accurate record. MOTION CARRIED

6. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations were held.

7. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this committee.

9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

9.1. Environmental Delivery Group Regulatory Update: Quarterly Report

[YouTube 9:09] This paper updated the Committee on the activities of the Regulatory Teams of the Environmental Delivery Group between 1 July and 31 January 2025. Alexandra King (Manager Consents), Simon Wilson (Manager Environmental Delivery Data and Systems) and Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery) were available to respond to questions.

At 3:10 pm Cr Laws joined the meeting.

Resolution RLC25-101: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded *That the Committee:*

1. Notes this report.

2. Notes the 2023/2024 Analysis of the Compliance Monitoring and Enforcement Metrics prepared for Te uru Kahika Regional and Unitary Councils. **MOTION CARRIED**

9.2. Overview of summer activities of the Harbourmaster Team

[YouTube 19:32] The report provided an update to the Committee on Harbourmaster activity and operations following the completion of the 2024/2025 summer season (1 November 2024 to 28 February 2025). Steve Rushbrook (Harbourmaster) online, and Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution RLC25-102: Cr Kelliher Moved, Mr Langsbury Seconded

That the Committee: **1. Notes** this report. **MOTION CARRIED**

9.3. Territorial Authority Wastewater Treatment Plant Compliance Summary Report

[YouTube 23:00] The report provided the Committee with a summary of the compliance of Territorial Local Authority (TLA) wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) and the actions that have been taken by Council to achieve compliance. The report covered the period 1 April 2023 to 31 December 2024 inclusive. Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery) and Richard Saunders (Chief Executive) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution RLC25-103: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Malcolm Seconded

That the Committee: **1. Notes** this report. **MOTION CARRIED**

9.4. LGNZ Local electoral reform draft position paper

[YouTube 1:30] The paper invited feedback on Local Government New Zealand's (LGNZ's) local electoral reform draft position paper. Marianna Brook (Principal Advisor Mayoral Forum and Local Government Reform), and Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer) were available to respond to questions on the report. Following discussion there was a brief adjournment to amend the recommendation.

At 4:43 pm it was moved by Cr Weir and seconded by Cr Wilson

That the committee adjourn for 5 minutes. **MOTION CARRIED**

A division was called.

Resolution RLC25-104: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

That the Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- **2.** *Approves* option 1 endorsing LGNZ's discussion paper on local electoral reform before the 28 April 2025 deadline.

3. *Agrees* that the Chair be authorised to approve and submit the feedback to LGNZ. **BY DIVISION**

FOR:	Cr Forbes, Cr Noone, Cr Robertson, Cr Weir, Cr Wilson, Mr Langsbury.
AGAINST:	Cr Kelliher, Cr Laws, Cr Malcolm, Cr McCall, Cr Somerville.
ABSTAINED:	None.

MOTION CARRIED (6 votes for / 5 votes against)

10. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Weir declared the meeting closed at 5:00 pm.

que

Chairperson

__26 June 2025_____

Date