

Environmental Science and Policy Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Environmental Policy and Science Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 20 February 2025, commencing at 11:00 AM.

PRESENT

Cr Lloyd McCall

(Chair)

Karen Coutts

Cr Alexa Forbes

Cr Gary Kelliher

Cr Michael Laws

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Alan Somerville

Cr Elliot Weir

Cr Kate Wilson

1. WELCOME

Chair McCall welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 11 am. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport), Nick Donnelly (GM Finance), Tom Dyer (GM Manager Science and Resilience), Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Tami Sargeant (GM People and Corporate), Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer, Deputy CE), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support).

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Forbes Moved, Cr Weir Seconded: That the apologies for Edward Ellison be accepted.

MOTION CARRIED

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations were held.

7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the minutes of the (public portion of the) Council meeting held on 6 November 2024 be received and confirmed as a true and accurate record.

MOTION CARRIED

8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

No updates were noted to the Action register for this committee.

9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

9.1. Groundwater Hydrology in the Critically Endangered Native Galaxiid Habitat, Kauru River, North Otago

[YouTube 2:41] This paper summarised findings of a study to understand the relationship between river flows and groundwater behaviour in the lower reach of the Kauru River, Kakanui catchment, North Otago. This section of river provides a habitat to the critically endangered lowland long jaw galaxiid. Ben MacKay (Manager Science) Jason Augspurger (Principal Scientist) and Pete Ravenscroft (Team Leader Biodiversity) were present to respond to questions.

Resolution ESP25-101: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Committee

1. Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Laws left the meeting at 11:50 am. Cr Laws returned to the meeting at 11:59 am.

9.2. Update on the Groundwater Science Programme

[Youtube 43:23] This paper updated the Committee on the groundwater science programme. This included recent expansions and improvements to the monitoring network, the transition to an online national wells database, technical contributions to the proposed Land and Water Regional Plan, and ongoing efforts to better understand and manage Otago's groundwater resource. Ben MacKay (Manager Science), Amir Levy (Senior Groundwater Scientist were available to respond to questions.

Resolution ESP25-102: Cr McCall Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Committee:

1. Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

12. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair McCall declared the meeting closed at 12noon.

	22 May 2025
Chairperson	Date