

Council MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Otago Regional Council held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Wednesday 9 April 2025, at 12:00 PM.

https://www.youtube.com/live/CbwC4lafwPk?si=cto7H4G4duXK2GCl

PRESENT

Cr Gretchen Robertson Cr Lloyd McCall Cr Alexa Forbes Cr Gary Kelliher Cr Michael Laws Cr Kevin Malcolm Cr Andrew Noone Cr Alan Somerville Cr Elliot Weir Cr Kate Wilson (Chairperson) (Deputy Chairperson) (online)

(online)

1. WELCOME

Chair Robertson welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 12 pm with a karakia. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport), Tom Dyer (GM Manager Science and Resilience), Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Tami Sargeant (GM People and Corporate), Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer, Deputy CE), Kylie Darragh and Cara Jordan (Governance Support) Dianne Railton (Team Lead Governance).

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded:

That the apology for Cr Tim Mepham be accepted. **MOTION CARRIED**

3. PUBLIC FORUM

Pierre Marasti spoke to the Council on behalf of Extinction Rebellion. There was an opportunity for questions. Chair Robertson thanked Pierre for attending.

Elizabeth Soal spoke to the Council on behalf of the Waitaki Irrigators Collective Ltd. There was an opportunity for questions. Chair Robertson thanked Elizabeth for attending.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. ACTIONS (STATUS OF COUNCIL RESOLUTIONS)

This report will return to Council next month with updates. There was an opportunity for questions from Councillors.

7. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

7.1. Large Scale Environmental Funding

[YouTube 36:00] This paper updated Council on the process to develop the framework for the Large-Scale Environmental Funding and sought feedback on the draft principles and delivery models for the fund, in advance of the final report to be presented to Council for decision making in May 2025. Jo Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery) Emma Hodgkin (Senior Associate Project Management, Frequency NZ) and Libby Caldwell (Manager Environmental Implementation) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution CM25-149: Cr Forbes Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Council:

- 1. **Receives** this report.
- **2. Endorses** the draft principles and delivery models referred to in option 1 to inform the preparation of a paper which details the process for establishing and administering the \$2 million large-scale environmental fund.
- **3. Notes** that the establishment date for implementation of the \$2m large scale environmental fund is subject to decisions made during the current annual plan process.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Kelliher voted against.

7.2. Waitaki Update

[YouTube 57:30] This report updated Council on progress on the investigation into managing the Waitaki catchment as a single integrated catchment and requested approval to collaborate with Environment Canterbury (ECan), to undertake a Section 35 assessment. Anita Dawe (GM Manager Regional Planning and Transport) and Richard Saunders (Chief Executive) were available to respond to questions on the report. Cr Robertson foreshadowed the alternative recommendations.

Resolution CM25-150: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Malcolm Seconded

That the Council:

- 1. Notes the report.
- **2. Thanks** the members of the working group and all parties that have provided feedback during the process for their contributions.
- **3. Refers** the matter back to the working group to consider the implications of proposed Resource Management Reform on the Waitaki review process and reports back to Council.
- **4. Requests** that the working group consider holding hui to bring the key parties together to discuss aspirations and opportunities for the Waitaki catchment in light of the RM reform proposals.
- **5.** *Notes* that ECAN have voted to complete a s35 review which is consistent with reviews they are undertaking across Canterbury.
- **6. Requests** that staff provide an update to all parties who have been involved in this project to date on the decision made by ORC and next steps in the process.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Kelliher voted against.

7.3. ORC Membership Representation Review - Determination Outcome

[Youtube 1:42] This paper sought to formally receive the determination from the Local Government Commission on the Otago Regional Council's 2025 Membership Representation Review. Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer) and Richard Saunders (Chief Executive) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution CM25-151: Cr Forbes Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Council:

- 1. Notes this report.
- **2. Notes** the determination from the Local Government Commission which upheld the final proposal adopted by the ORC (attached to this paper).
- **3.** Notes the Local Government Commission has recommended Council looks at the population data in 2027 to see whether an out of cycle representation review may be justified.

4. Notes that the staff will bring a paper in 2027 to Council to provide advice on this issue. **MOTION CARRIED**

7.4. Six-Monthly report to the Minister under Section 27 of the Resource Management Act

[Youtube 1:52:30] To present for approval by Council, the eleventh progress report to the Minister for the Environment, in accordance with section 27 of the Resource Management Act 1991 in relation to the recommendations made under Section 24A of the Resource Management Act. Fleur Matthews (Manager Policy and Planning) and Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport) were available to respond to questions on the report.

Resolution CM25-152: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr McCall Seconded

That the Council:

- 1. Notes this report.
- 2. Approves the eleventh report to the Minister for the Environment, that reports on progress against the recommendations made in the Minister's letter of November 2019. MOTION CARRIED

8. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Robertson declared the meeting closed at 1:41 pm.

Chairperson

Date