About the region

Otago is New Zealand's second largest region, boasting a diverse landscape from rugged coastlines to spectacular mountains and alpine lakes. Its beautiful scenery and adventure packed terrain make it a popular destination for New Zealand and international visitors.


Otago is the second largest region in New Zealand in terms of land area; approximately 32,000 sq km or 12% of New Zealand's land area. The coastline stretches approximately 480km from the Waitaki River in the north to Wallace Beach in the south. The coastal marine area extends out to sea 22.2 km (12 nautical miles).


There are four districts and one city in the Otago region: Queenstown Lakes, Central Otago, Clutha, Waitaki and Dunedin.. While the Waitaki District falls partly within the Otago region and partly within the Canterbury region, 90% of its population live in the Otago region. Dunedin City, at approximately 3,300 sq km, is the second largest city in New Zealand in terms of land area.


Otago's resident population (2013 Census) is 202,467 or 4.8 percent of New Zealand's total population of 4,242,048. The next census is due to be held in 2018.


Back to top
Online Maps & Data: