Media release

New faces take up key committee roles

Thursday 3 November 2016

ORC’s committee structure for 2016-19 sees some experienced councillors taking on new governance challenges and all four new councillors being appointed to chairmanship or deputy roles.

The same major standing committees – Policy, Technical, Finance and Corporate, Communications, and Regulatory – which were in place during the 2013-16 term – remain, but will be reviewed next year.

ORC chairman Stephen Woodhead said the lineup for 2016-19 had a balanced mix of experienced and newly-elected councillors in chairmanship and deputy roles.

“With the significant workload we have ahead of us from a governance perspective over the next three years. I am confident we are well equipped to provide the political leadership our staff and our communities require,” Mr Woodhead said.

The committee lineup is (*denotes newly-elected councillor)

Policy committee

Chairwoman: Cr Gretchen Robertson.
Deputy: Cr Michael Laws.*

Technical committee

Chairwoman: Cr Maggie Lawton.*
Deputy: Cr Stephen Woodhead.

Finance and corporate committee

Chairman: Cr Doug Brown.
Deputy: Cr Andrew Noone.*

Communications Committee

Chairman: Cr Michael Deaker.
Deputy: Cr Carmen Hope.*

Regulatory Committee

Chairman: Cr Bryan Scott.
Deputy: Cr Sam Neill.

Otago Regional Transport Committee

Chairman: Cr Trevor Kempton.
Deputy: Cr Graeme Bell.

For more information please contact

Stephen Woodhead
Ph 027 2801635