Media release

Otago Regional Council elects Andrew Noone as new chair

Wednesday 8 July 2020

The Otago Regional Council voted in an extraordinary council meeting this morning to remove Cr Marian Hobbs as Chair. The vote passed by nine votes to two, with one abstention.

Following the vote, Councillors elected Cr Andrew Noone as Chair. Cr Noone was the only candidate to replace Cr Hobbs and was elected by ten votes with two abstentions.