Find your area

To reflect Otago’s environment, we divided the region into five Freshwater Management Units (FMU). The Clutha Mata-Au FMU, being quite large, is further divided into five rohe, which means "area" in te reo.

An FMU is a water body or water bodies of a manageable size for setting freshwater objectives and limits. This can be a river, a part of, or a group of catchments. All regional councils are required to set FMUs.


Not sure which FMU or rohe you live in?

Use the FMU/Rohe Finder below to view which FMU/Rohe boundary you reside in, or are interested in.



Ki uta ki tai

The concept of ki uta ki tai - from the mountains to the sea - recognises the movement of water through the landscape and the numerous interactions on its journey and is a key influence in forming FMU boundaries. It helps inform cultural, land use, geological and scientific maps and other relevant information.

Larger FMU are subdivided into smaller areas (rohe), to acknowledge the unique values for different parts of a catchment. They also provide practical areas for consultation.

More information on community events and how you can be involved


Back to top
Online Maps & Data: