Media release

Otago Navigation Safety Bylaw 2018 Draft

Monday 23 July 2018

Otago Regional Council (ORC) has opened up the draft Navigation Safety Bylaw 2018 for public consultation.

ORC is responsible for the regulation of ports, harbours, waters, and maritime-related activities in the Otago region under the Maritime Transport Act (1994).

The bylaw will cover maritime safety in all inland waters and all coastal waters out to the 12-nautical limit of the territorial sea of Otago, apart from the waters of the Queenstown Lakes District and Lake Dunstan. Responsibility for these waters has previously been transferred by ORC to Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC) and Central Otago District Council (CODC).

The Harbourmaster, Steve Rushbrook, said the previous 2003 Otago and Karitane bylaw covered only Otago and Karitane harbours and has since lapsed.

“In preparing the draft bylaws I have reviewed the navigation safety bylaws of QLDC, CODC, and the surrounding Southland and Canterbury regions.

“Little content was suitable to be carried over from the 2003 bylaw as it was prepared under provisions that have since been repealed and replaced,” he said.

A companion document to the bylaw has also been released, which is the Harbourmaster Directions. This is not up for public consultation but sets the speed limits for all vessels in Otago Harbour and is primarily aimed at commercial shipping activities.

You can find the 2018 draft bylaw, harbourmaster directions and more information about this process online at

For further information please contact:
Steve Rushbrook – Harbourmaster – 0275835196

Communications Contact:
Emma Schranz - Senior Media Advisor - 0276275894