Otago Regional Council Navigation Safety Bylaw 2020


If you are intending to use Otago waterways for any type of marine activity, you must comply with the Otago Regional Council Navigation Safety Bylaw 2020.

Order a printed copy

Order a free copy of the bylaw by:

Purpose of the bylaw

This bylaw was developed under the Maritime Transport Act (1994). The Act gives ORC the authority to regulate ports, harbours, waters and maritime-related activities in the Otago region.

Area covered by the bylaw

The bylaw covers all coastal waters out to the 12-nautical mile limit of the territorial sea of Otago and inland waters, apart from the waters of the Queenstown Lakes District. Responsibility for these waters sits with the Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC).

Page last updated 21 June 2024.