Are you being served?


Representation Review Survey has now closed.


Jump to:


How well represented do you feel?

Every six years councils must review how communities are represented in the make-up of their council. A representation review looks at the structures in place, including:

  • the number of constituencies (electoral areas) and their boundaries
  • the number of elected members (councillors) representing each constituency
  • the names of the constituencies

The representation review cannot change the people who are currently elected but it may increase the number of councillors (14 is the maximum number of councillors a Regional Council can have).
The last representation review for Otago Regional Council was completed in 2018 and resulted in no change - Council remained having 12 Councillors representing 4 constituencies.


Fair and effective representation

Council must ensure their communities have fair and effective representation.

Fair representation means each elected member represents about the same number of people (within +/- 10 percent of the region's population divided by the total number of Councillors).

The latest population data supplied from Stats NZ indicates that following population growth over the past six years, the Dunstan constituency now falls outside the +/- 10% margin of the average across the region, and thus no longer meets the legislative requirements for fair representation.

Effective representation relates to the Councillors’ ability to represent their constituency and ensure matters important to their electorate are heard.


Initial proposal

We are surveying people’s views. Do you think the constituency boundaries allows for effective representation? Do you think there is a need for a further councillor or councillors? Tell us what you think, tukua to kōrero.

Council will make a decision on its initial representation proposal by July 2024, and submissions will be called for after that.


Current arrangements

The Otago Regional Council is made up of 12 Councillors, elected from four constituencies:

Dunstan 3
Moeraki 1
Molyneux 2
Dunedin 6



All constituencies are based on population ratios and communities of interests

Details of constituencies


If map above isn't working, please use the constituencies look up on ORC Maps


Why do we have wards?

A ward or constituency (or electoral area) is a specific area or zone. Just like how a city might be divided into different neighbourhoods or districts, the Otago region is divided into different constituencies.

Councillors are elected for each constituency to be the voice of the people on Council for their respective communities, and represent their views in decision making.


What’s the role of an ORC councillor?

The Chairperson and councillors of the Otago Regional Council are collectively responsible for the following:

  • the development and adoption of Council policy
  • monitoring the ongoing performance of Council against its stated objectives and policies (including signoff of the Annual Report)
  • ensuring the prudent use and stewardship of Council resources
  • representing the interest of the region


What happens after the survey closes?

There will be a public Council workshop on 21 March, where the results of the early engagement will be presented to Council along with some analysis of the numbers.

This will be followed by a paper to Council at the end of May, where Council will decide on an option to formally consult on (possibly in July).


Back to top
Online Maps & Data: