Local elections

How and when to vote, and results for past local elections

Local elections are held every three years by postal vote.

Residents and other ratepayers in Otago have the chance to vote for 12 Councillors elected from four constituencies based on area using the First Past the Post (FPP) system.

These constituencies are Dunedin (six Councillors), Dunstan (three Councillors), Molyneux (two Councillors) and Moeraki (one Councillor).

View the constituency map


Next election

The next election will be held 8 October 2022. 

Notice of 2022 Triennial Local Authority Elections

Pre-election report 2022
This report outlines the work of the ORC and some of the challenges facing the region and the Council, now and in the future.


Important dates for the 2022 elections

Friday 16 September - Voting and special voting begins

Saturday 8 October - Election day. Voting closes at noon. Progress results should be available late in the afternoon.

See the candidates nominated to stand


Ratepayer enrolment

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on your district or city council’s electoral roll as a residential elector. 
Enrol or update your information on the parliamentary electoral roll

If you live outside of the Otago region but pay rates for a property within the electoral boundaries, you may qualify to vote as a non-resident ratepayer elector.  Follow instructions on the new Online Ratepayer Enrolment Portal to register.


2019 Elections

View the 2019 Elections results  

View the Otago Regional Council 2019 Pre-election report

Back to top
Online Maps & Data: