Otago Regional Council coordinates the Enviroschools programme in Otago, working alongside our regional partners.

Our partners include:

Dunedin City Council
Central Otago District Council
Central Otago Rural Education Activities Programme
Clutha District Council
Queenstown Lakes District Council
Wanaka Wastebusters 
Waitaki District Council

The kaupapa of Enviroschools is about the well-being of the whole school, community and ecosystem. The aim is to foster a generation of young people who instinctively think and act sustainably.

Students and schools work towards creating sustainable communities by:

  • Role modeling sustainable practices;
  • Enabling students to be teachers among their families and peers; and
  • Creating future leaders who understand how to make informed decisions and take action.

There are currently 72 Otago schools participating in the programme. Visit the national Enviroschools website for details on participating schools.

Enviroschools newsletter

Part of the Enviroschools philosophy is to share knowledge and learning. One way to find out what our participating schools have been up to is through our newsletters.


Enviroschools Ōtākou Newsletter 1 - 2019

Enviroschools Ōtākou Newsletter 2 - 2019



Enviroschools Ōtākou Newsletter 2 - 2018


Click here to find out more about Enviroschools.


Contact Us

If you'd like more information about the Enviroschools Programme visit the national website or contact our Regional Coordinator, Dr Robyn Zink.

Email: robyn.zink@orc.govt.nz
Phone: 0800 474 082

Back to top
Online Maps & Data: